From our Architectural Traveller

An alleyway - Venice Italy. Copyright Johanna Bilkey

An alleyway – Venice Italy.

Today’s post is written by our lovely Johanna, who before she started with us last year, had been galavanting all over the globe.

When thinking about what I might want to contribute as a blog article the first thing that popped into my head was photos of my favourite architectural spaces. Thinking back on my memories of the buildings I’ve experienced I tried to think of which may have been my favourite and if I could draw a common thread or theme from them all so I could make a somewhat coherent post.

As I trawled through the thousands of photos I’ve taken over the last few years I carefully saved out the ones that brought back the fondest memories of awe and inspiration.

At first when I laid out the images I had chosen they seemed somewhat random and the idea of being able to run with a theme was almost forgotten. But as I started to reflect on why I loved those spaces I quickly realised they all had something in common. Light.

All the places, spaces and buildings both old and new that I have loved the most have all had the most beautiful use of light. Light, both natural and artificial not only allows us to define what is around us, but light or the absence of light can transform a space.

Le Corbusier once said “Architecture is the wise, correct and magnificent play of volumes collected together under the light.” I love the life light brings, the way it can highlight a material, a roughness or a smoothness, how it casts shadows and reflections.

The memories I have of these spaces are feelings of being enveloped; they stimulated my senses, the feeling of excitement & sublime happiness as I took in the beauty of the space and the privilege I felt that I was able to be there and experience it.

And with that, enjoy –

Parish Church of Santa Monica by Vicens and Ramos  -Madrid Spain

Parish Church of Santa Monica by Vicens and Ramos -Madrid Spain

 Atocha Railway Station Memorial -Madrid Spain

Atocha Railway Station Memorial -Madrid Spain

Moorish Wall in Alto Albaicin by Antonio Jimenz Torrecillas

Moorish Wall in Alto Albaicin by Antonio Jimenz Torrecillas

Bagan, Myanmar

Bagan, Myanmar

Holocaust Memorial by Peter Eisenman - Berlin Germany

Holocaust Memorial by Peter Eisenman – Berlin Germany

The Louvre - Paris France

The Louvre – Paris France

The Louvre - Paris France

The Louvre – Paris France

The Alhambra - Granda Spain

The Alhambra – Granda Spain

Casa de Musica Porto by OMA-Porto Portugal

Casa de Musica Porto by OMA-Porto Portugal

Casa de Musica Porto by OMA-Porto Portugal

Casa de Musica Porto by OMA-Porto Portugal

The DZ Bank building by Frank Gerhy - Berlin Germany

The DZ Bank building by Frank Gerhy – Berlin Germany

Bruges Belgium

Bruges Belgium

Sagrada Familia by Gaudi - Barcelona Spain

Sagrada Familia by Gaudi – Barcelona Spain

Tondonia Winery Pavilion by Zaha Hadid - Haro, La Rioja Spain

Tondonia Winery Pavilion by Zaha Hadid – Haro, La Rioja Spain

Andalucias Museum of Memory by Alberto Campo Baeza Andalucia -Spain

Andalucias Museum of Memory by Alberto Campo Baeza Andalucia -Spain

Valencias City of Arts and Sciences by Santiago Calatrava

Valencias City of Arts and Sciences by Santiago Calatrava

One thought on “From our Architectural Traveller

Leave a Reply

