My Project…almost 1 year on

So I’ve been rather busy, and was planning on updating you on my project –which you can read about here, but…yeah.

So I’ll just catch you up now. Its been almost a year since that little house moved onto site, and I’m almost finished. Some landscaping, some final exterior painting, a fence, a shed, and some interior styling are on my to-do list, and I will aim to be more forthcoming with progress on these.

Before -overgrown. Just before - bare dirt. House moved on!

Before -overgrown. Just before – bare dirt. House moved on and almost finished!

The house has been a perfect fit for the site – despite it looking like it wouldn’t fit at the beginning! And she’s quite eye-catching. People are still slowing down/pulling over and having a good little look-see.

The house was in good knick when I got it and moved it on, so that helped alot in the process. Half the house hasn’t had to be touched other than a coat or two of paint. The other half has had a fair bit of work. I had decided that I needed an extra bedroom and an extra bathroom, purely because other houses in the area (even though there aren’t many villas – but there are a couple if you hunt them down) were 4 bedroom and 2 bathroom. Plus the 3rd bedroom is only a single room. To fit this in we built the kitchen on – exact size and shape, right next to where it had been. This allowed for a master suite to be built in the old kitchen with a walkthrough wardrobe which leads to an ensuite. These spaces were created in the old dining room – maybe this will better explain what I’ve done —

How the house was, and how it is now on the site.

How the house was, and how it is now on the site. Not to scale. Looks something like that. You get the drift.

And then the fun bit – picking tiles, colours and painting (so much painting)! Donna in our office gave me the teal green glass tiles I’ve used in the kitchen – she had originally bought them for her kitchen but decided it wasn’t the look she wanted, and luckily there were more of that batch at Heritage Tiles, and that we have a friend who works there, and I managed to get the rest that I needed. While I was there I fell in love with some hexagon tiles – and I couldn’t walk away, so these pretty little things are the splash back in my ensuite. Little note to remember – at this stage I was doing the house up to rent out, but of course testing my hand at interior design (I’m the company Graphic Designer) so trying out ideas that I liked. I’ve since moved in, and its still everything I like. Greys, blues, greens, natural wood, classic villa design features mixed with contemporary features – eclectic.

The rest is really a blur of painting, so I’ll just show you before/during/and semi finished pics so you can see what I’ve done. But I have to say, it has been (and still is) a fun process – a bit stressful at times – but fun. And I think I have been lucky with how well its gone – Architect on the job, builder who loves working on villas and has an amazing eye for details, friends in the right places.

Keep an eye out for my crack at interior styling.

This is my walk through wardrobe and ensuite taking shape. I think it is one of my favourite rooms - the tiles! the wooden bench! the blue!

This is my walk through wardrobe and ensuite taking shape. I think it is one of my favourite rooms – the tiles! the wooden bench! the blue!

Master bedroom. This was the old kitchen. Funny thing with villas is they are full of all sorts of character! This room is a bay room, with a high window, and wooden beams! It had a false ceiling (and some super retro wallpaper in the upper space), but once we decided to move in we removed it to let in more light.

Master bedroom. This was the old kitchen. Funny thing with villas is they are full of all sorts of character! This room is a bay room, with a high window, and wooden beams! It had a false ceiling (and some super retro wallpaper in the upper space), but once we decided to move in we removed it to let in more light.

This end of the living room was a filled in varandah with a big window. Because of the placement of the house we decided to build a bay on (as it was now the front of the house) and added the french doors to let in as much light as possible (also allows for an amazing cross breeze in the summer) . They also act as our front door which leads onto the deck, and as we can open these doors right up it makes an extended dining/living space.

This end of the living room was a filled in varandah with a big window. Because of the placement of the house we decided to build a bay on (as it was now the front of the house) and added the french doors to let in as much light as possible (also allows for an amazing cross breeze in the summer) . They also act as our front door which leads onto the deck, and as we can open these doors right up it makes an extended dining/living space.

This is the progress of the kitchen, building the space on so the existing cabinets can fit in exactly. I love my kitchen. Its a gorgeous mix of classic and contemporary. I'm a huge fan of natural wood, and mine looks stunning (if I do say so myself) against the teal tiles (I love teal, and it just so happened these are what Donna gave to me)

This is the progress of the kitchen, building the space on so the existing cabinets can fit in exactly. I love my kitchen. Its a gorgeous mix of classic and contemporary. I’m a huge fan of natural wood, and mine looks stunning (if I do say so myself) against the teal tiles (I love teal, and it just so happened these are what Donna gave to me)

Look at these floors! They had been covered in carpet (which was re-used in the master bedroom and wardrobe) and they were almost black - you can see it in the lower photo. After 3 days of sanding and varnishing my floor guy got them looking like this! I think they are gorgeous! I went for full gloss - lets the light bounce off the floor, and love the old bora tracks. So much character.

Look at these floors! They had been covered in carpet (which was re-used in the master bedroom and wardrobe) and they were almost black – you can see it in the lower photo. After 3 days of sanding and varnishing my floor guy got them looking like this! I think they are gorgeous! I went for full gloss – lets the light bounce off the floor, and love the old bora tracks. So much character.

Here is the living room progress. Building the kitchen off to the side, the massive cupboard I have in the corner.

Here is the living room progress. Building the kitchen off to the side, the massive cupboard I have in the corner.

Leave a Reply

